• English
  • Russian

User login















view post

Pterinochilus

English

Genus Pterinochilus Pocock, 1897 

 

Genus status. On the systematic features the close relative to Augacephalus, Idiothele and Ceratogyrus.

Including genus Pterinochilides Strand, 1920, and also some representatives of genera Coelogenium , Idiothele, Eucratoscelus and Harpactira by R. Gallon in 2001.

See also "Synonymy" page from "Evolution&Systematic" section of the site.

Type species – Pterinochilus vorax Pocock, 1897.

Till recent time that was a big messing group of african tarantulas (23 species) called "baboon-spiders", Which inhabiting the wide range of the territories of the continental Africa from equator to Southern part. However, according the revision of Britain arachnologist Richard C. Gallon, published in 2002 at the Bulletin of Britain Arachnological Society, No. 12 (5), genus has undergo a fair changes and at present time it counts only 7 species (one more new species would be added soon (R. Gallon, in press), from which the validity of taxon Pterinochilus leetzi Schmidt, 2002 raise some doubts (see also comments at "Comments to systematic" from "Evolution&Systematic" section of the site).

The Genus Pterinochilus was astablished by great Reginald Ines Pocock in 1897 on the basis of the specimens from locality near Lake Tanganyika. In the same work he described P. murinus Pocock, 1897 from Tanzania, and also new genera Brachionopus Pocock, 1897 and Ceratogyrus Pocock, 1897. In the following year he added - P. nigrofulvus Pocock, 1898a from South Africa, and also noted the discovery of the type species in Malawi. With the receipt of a collection of East African arachnids from Mr. Betton Pocock was able to establish a new genus Eucratoscelus Pocock, 1898b based on its type species E. longiceps Pocock, 1898b, and also a new species Pterinochilus spinifer Pocock, 1898b, and subsequently - P. schoenlandi Pocock, 1900a and P. lugardi Pocock, 1900a.

In 1902 another one arachnologist Purcell, working from CapeTown, described a further South African genera and species: P. crassispinus Purcell, 1902, genus Coelogenium Purcell, 1902 – a new genus to accommodate a Zimbabwean specimen with a strongly procurved fovea (C. pillansi Purcell, 1902), genus Harpactirella Purcell, 1902. Two years later Pterinochilus junodi Simon, 1904 was added to the South African fauna owing to Eugen Simon.

Arachnologist Hirst was also working on the genus Pterinochilus and proposed two new species - P. hindei Hirst, 1907 and P. meridionalis Hirst, 1907. Another arachnologist Tullgren, examining Tanzanian material collected by Prof. Sjostedt, described two additional species: P. affinis Tullgren, 1910 and P. sjostedti Tullgren , 1910, based on single females from Kibonoto.

For his part Hewitt, curator at the Transvaal Museum, also contributed further species to the genus – he was not only described a new species P. breyeri Hewitt, 1919, but also genus Idiothele Hewitt, 1919, to accommodate both - P. nigrofulvus and a new one - I. pluridentata Hewitt, 1919.

Baboon tarantula Pterinochilus chordatus in defence pose. Foto (c) Timo Raab     Later, arachnologiests Berland and Caporiacco described accordingly: P. alluaudi Berland, 1914 from Kenya, P. simoni Berland, 1917 from Congo and Đ. brunellii Caporiacco, 1940 from Ethiopia.

But the most prolific workers on the genus was Strand, who described several species: Pterinochilus widenmanni Strand, 1906a, P. mamillatus Strand, 1906a, P. raptor Strand, 1906b, P. carnivorus Strand, 1917, P. mutus Strand, 1920, P. occidentalis Strand, 1920, P. occidentalis (var.?) Strand, 1920 and Pterinochilides obenbergeri Strand, 1920, and also synonymized P. vorax with species P. constrictus (Strand, 1907a).

Further Laurent (1946) and Aussie arachnologist R. Raven (1985) also revised this group of the mentioned above close genera, as well as the Britain A. Smith (1990). P. Carpenter in 1993 proposed that the Coelogenium is a junior synonym of Pterinochilus , but incorrectly stated the reason for it, that is why Smith (1996) and N. Platnick (1998) both rejected Charpentier’s synonymy.

Also German arachnologiests Peters (1998, 1999), publishing some articles on the subject, and Schmidt et al., redescribed Pterinochilus mamillatus and described the female for the first time in 2000, and G. Schmidt itself established the new species - Pterinochilus leetzi Schmidt, 2002.

The result of it's global longstanding work, dedicated to the group of genera-complex of the Subfamily Harpactirinae, Richard Gallon has published in 2001 (GALLON, R. C. 2001: Revision of the Ceratogyrus spp. Formerly included in Coelogenium (Araneae, Theraphosidae, Harpactirinae). Mygalomorph 2(1): 1–20). Considerable changes, which has lead to synonymyzation of these two examining genera, also apply the genus Pterinochilus: species Pterinochilus meridionalis was transferred to Ceratogyrus, Coelogenium raveni - to Pterinochilus, and species Coelogenium nigrifemur synonymized with Pterinochilus junodi.

And recently the "final line" in modern taxonomy of the Subfamily Harpactirinae was drawn by the same Britain arachnologist R. Gallon in 2002 (GALLON, R. C. 2002. Revision of the African genera Pterinochilus and Eucratoscelus (Araneae, Theraphosidae, Harpactirinae) with description of two new genera. Bull. Br. arachnol. Soc. 12 (5), 201–232), as a result of which the genus Pterinochilus Pocock, 1897 finally put in order and the status in which we have it now.

In 2009 two new species was described by Richard Gallon from Kenya: Pterinochilus raygabrieli sp. n. (south сentral part) and Pterinochilus andrewsmithi sp. n. from north-west territories.

The representatives of the genus Pterinochilus differs from other related African genera of Subfamily Harpactirinae by the following combination if features: from Harpactirella by the presence of a retrolateral cheliceral scopula composed of plumose setae; from Harpactira and Trichognathella by the absence of a dense scopula on the upper prolateral cheliceral surface. Further separated from Harpactira by the absence of plumose stridulatory strikers on the prolateral maxillary surface, and by the absence of a discrete row of bristles below the retro-lateral cheliceral scopula. Distinguished from Idiothele by the possession of a digitiform distal segment on the posterior spinneret. From Ceratogyrus by the absence of the darken coloration of the venter of the palps, leg I-II and reduced number of long emergent setae of the chelicerae. Female of Pterinochilus are separated from those of Eucratoscelus by the un-modified (not incrassate) tibiae of leg IV. Male - are separated from those of Eucratoscelus by the absence of a distal proventral tumid protuberance on metatarsus I. Female Pterinochilus are separated from those of Augacephalus by the possession of long emergent setae on the chelicerae,less robust palpi and legs I–II,and by circular submarginal posterior sternal sigilla. Male - are distinguished from those of Augacephalus by the presence on tibia I of a well-developed distal proventral apophysis surmounted by a well-developed megaspine.

Pterinochilus murinus enclosure, general view. Foto (c) Timo Raab     The Genus is represented by small and everage sized (2-6 cm) much similar looking in appearence, but very polymorphic tarantulas, which have a typical coloration of the upper side of a body consisting of spotts, stripes and reticulated pattern, that is embarrassing they're visual species or even genera identification. Most of the species has a wide range of color forms, the either also can vary and former was described as different species.

They have also a wide distribution from the humid and semihumid equatorial areas to arid bushlands and semideserted Africa, with altitudinal range between sea level and over 2100 m. Inhabiting burrows and use as a retreat any other natural refugies on the ground, on the base of bushes, between the stones, brunches, etc.

They are noted to has ability to built an "arboreal retreat" (as the arboreal tarantulas did), which they placed in bases of overland nature covertures (P. murinus also founds at the hollows of the trees). The burrows inside are thick covered with the web and also an entrance too.

This is aggressive (highly defensive), active and rapid tarantulas considering having a potent venom. They can not be recommended for beginners or as a start tarantula as well in spite of the fact that the most species are easier to keep and breed.

They're maybe the one of the least living representatives of tarantulas in general - the average lifespan considering about 5-7 years (females), in some sources 12 years has also mentioned. Males Pterinochilus spp. also known as one of the earlierst matured species among theraphosids - less than year!

Males of these tarantulas smaller in size, sexual dimorphism before maturity do not possessed. For the species P. murinus known a few cases of laying several (2-3) eggsacs after one mating within the time period of one month between the sac's. Spiderlings possess good appetite and grows qickly: males can reach sexual maturity within the year, females - after 1,5 years old. They have a fixed-type cocoon, as well as some other representatives of this Subfamily, which contains about 100-200 eggs and rarely more.

Keeping conditions. In captivity, as against in a nature, as a rule, do not dig burrows, given artificial shelters, occasionally digging out deepenings under pieces of cork bark etc., spinning a terrarium in and around the shelter with a thick web. But often they're do not use any given shelters but covering all the terrarium with the thick layer of silk, constructing the system of tunnels and passages.

All represented in hobby species (P. murinus, P. chordatus and P. lugardi) can stridulate.

Routinely bred in captivity.

 All Pterinochilus species can be kept under the similiar conditions: low humidity and good ventilation, on dry or slightly moistened substratum with a water bowl. The temperature can be varies within 25-28°C. Thus, humidity for spiders of early ages should be higher, for what it is necessary to humidify a part of a substratum.

Distribution. All species of Pterinochilus distributed only in Africa, mostly at Eastern and Central Africa, and also to south (Kenya, Ethiopia, Somali, Sudan, Uganda, Tanzania, Botswana, Namibia, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Burundi, Congo (Zaire), Mozambique, Rwanda).

 

Species

Common name

Areal

Foto

Biology, status

Keeping conditions

alluaudi
Berland, 1914

-

(Maji ya Chumvi) Kenya

-

  Known only from it's description on the adult male specimen
Any biologic data is absent

  Unknown in captivity

andrewsmithi Gallon, 2009

 -

 Kenya

 

 -

 Yet is unknown in captivity

chordatus
(Gerstacker, 1873)

Kalimanjaro mustard baboon

East Africa

dark color form

Foto Barry Wiles © 2005

adult male

light color from

specimen of typical color form

Foto Timo Raab © 2005

 

  In nature inhabiting open grasslands, reaching 2100 elevation attitude.
For this species, as well as for the Pterinochilus lugardi burrowing type of life is more typical then those of Pterinochilus murinus.
Reaching 5,5 cm in body lengh (females, males are smaller).
Has at least 2 color forms, from which the darkest are less widespread in hobby. Every form has it's own little difference in coloration.

  Keeping requirements of this species the same as for
Pterinochilus murinus

leetzi
Schmidt, 2002

-

Zambia

 

 

Foto taken from the description paper

 © A. Leetz

  

The species known in the sole female specimen, which was alive at the moment of it's description.
The validity of this taxon needs confirmation (according to some specialists this is nothing then P. murinus "dcf")

  Keeping requirements of this species possibly the same as for
Pterinochilus murinus

lugardi

Pocock, 1900

Fort Hall (Kwebe) mustard baboon

North of Southern Africa

adult female

adult female constracting an eggsac

Foto Phil Messenger © 2004

adult female

Foto Steve Dye © 2005

adult female

Foto Laura Korska © 2005

 

 

The most "burrowingish" from all it's close relatives.
The biggest females of this species can reach more then 5 cm in body lengh, males - not more then 4 cm.
The biology of this species in nature poorly studied. However, this less widespread in captivity species then it's congeners also breeds.
In appearing it can be mixed with the pale variation of Pterinochilus murinus "ncf"

Keeping requirements of this species possibly the same as for
Pterinochilus murinus

murinus

Pocock, 1897

Star burst baboon, Usambara baboon, etc.

Eastern part of the Central Africa

red color form - Usambara baboon

Foto © Eugeny Yu. Rogov specimen of typical color form

Foto Timo Raab © 2005

usambara mountain color form

Foto Barry Wiles © 2005

adult male of red color form

Foto Ian Metcalfe © 2004

Of all these three species in hobby has least burrownig lifstyle, adjusted to different type of covertures which is offered. But it is more usually construct shelters made by silk on the substrat surface. This behavior the most noted from tarantulas of red color form (rcf) (often sold under "trade" names as Pterinochilus sp. "usambara" or "P. spinifer", "P. mamillatus").
This is the biggest Pterinochilus spp - reaches 6 cm of body lengh and to 15 cm of leg span. It is rather need to make a reservation that such a big sizes is correlates only with typical color form ("tcf"). Report of some single specimens of this color form reaching over 18 cm in leg span are given (male specimen in the Timo Raab collection, Germany (T. Raab, pers.com., 2005). The other one known forms are similar in size to P. chordatus or P. lugardi specimens.
THere're considering 4 main color forms, each of those has a slight difference in tone of coloration: typical cf ("tcf"), red cf ("rcf"), Usambara mountain variant ("umv") and dark cf ("dcf") (the last one doesn't presented in hobby).

The most intensively webbing tarantula and also the aggressive one.
Can be kept, as well as the other congeners, under the low humidity (50-60%) and temperature about 25-28°C.
Readily occupy an offered covertures spinning them with the thick web.
May kept on the dry substratum but at that requires a water bowl for drinking and misting the terrarium 1-2 times per week from the one of the tank side

 

raygabrieli Gallon, 2009

 

 -

 Kenya

 -

 -

 Yet is unknown in captivity

simoni
Berland, 1917

-

Congo River basin, occurring in Angola and Congo (Zaire)

-

  Known only from type specimens.
Reaches 4 cm in body lengh (female).
Any biology data is absent

Do not known in hobby

vorax
Pocock, 1897

-

Central Africa

-

Also do not known in hobby. Presumedly, some time ago there was several specimens imported in Europe. But any new data is unknown

Any keeping data is absent

 

to the top

• English
  • Russian

Вход на сайт















Pterinochilus

Род. Pterinochilus Pocock, 1897

Статус рода. По систематическому признаку близок к роду Augacephalus, Idiothele и Ceratogyrus.

Включён род Pterinochilides Strand, 1920, а также виды рода Coelogenium Purcell, 1902 Р. Гэллоном в 2001 году.

Смотрите также синонимику пауков-птицеедов.

Типовой вид рода – Pterinochilus vorax Pocock, 1897.

До недавнего времени большая по численности группа (23 вида) африканских пауков-птицеедов, не крупного и среднего размера, ареал которых охватывает обширную территорию материковой Африки от экватора до южной части. Однако, в соответствии с ревизией, произведённой английским арахнологом-систематиком Р. Гэллоном, опубликованной в 2002 году в Бюллетене Британского арахнологического общества 12 (5), род претерпел значительные изменения и в настоящее время насчитывает всего 7 видов, из которых валидность вида Pterinochilus leetzi Schmidt, 2002 вызывает сомнения (см. комментарии в разделе "Аннотация к систематике").

Род Pterinochilus был установлен великим Реджинальдом Пококом в 1897 году на основании экземпляров птицеедов, пойманных у озера Танганьика. Помимо типового вида, он также описал новый вид P. murinus Pocock, 1897 из Танзании, а также новые роды Brachionopus Pocock, 1897 и Ceratogyrus Pocock, 1897. Позднее он описывает ещё один вид - P. nigrofulvus Pocock, 1898a из Южной Африки, а также указывает на новое нахождение типового вида рода в Малави. Вскоре, получив коллекцию восточноафриканских пауков от м-ра Беттона Покок описывает новый род Eucratoscelus Pocock, 1898b с типовым видом E. longiceps Pocock, 1898b, а также вид Pterinochilus spinifer Pocock, 1898b, а двумя годами позже - P. schonlandi Pocock, 1900a и P. lugardi Pocock, 1900a.

В 1902 году, уже другой южноафриканский арахнолог Пурселл, работая в Кейптауне, описывает новые южноафриканские виды и роды птицеедов: P. crassispinus Purcell, 1902, род Coelogenium Purcell, 1902 – новый род, объединяющий зимбабвийские виды, имеющие хорошо выраженную изогнутую область фовеа (C. pillansi Purcell, 1902), род Harpactirella Purcell, 1902. A ещё двумя годами после вид Pterinochilus junodi Simon, 1904 пополнил список южноафриканских пауков-птицеедов уже благодаря Симону.

Арахнолог Хирст также работал с родом Pterinochilus и включил ещё два новых вида - P. hindei Hirst, 1907 и P. meridionalis Hirst, 1907. Другой арахнолог Тулгрен, изучая сборы пауков, присланных профессором Съёстедтом, описывает виды P. affinis Tullgren, 1910 и P. sjostedti Tullgren , 1910, на основании одиночных экземпляров самок.

В свою очередь Хьюит, куратор Трансваальского Музея, также вносит свой вклад в пополнение рода – он не только описывает вид P. breyeri Hewitt, 1919, но также и род Idiothele Hewitt, 1919, объединяющий два вида - P. nigrofulvus и новый вид I. pluridentata Hewitt, 1919.

Птицеед Pterinochilus chordatus в позе защиты. Фото (с) Timo Raab Далее, арахнологи Берланд и Капориакко описывают соответственно: P. alluaudi Berland, 1914 из Кении, P. simoni Berland, 1917 из Конго и Р. brunellii Caporiacco, 1940 из Эфиопии.
Но самый большой вклад в систематику рода внёс Странд, описав: Pterinochilus widenmanni Strand, 1906a, P. mamillatus Strand, 1906a, P. raptor Strand, 1906b, P. carnivorus Strand, 1917, P. mutus Strand, 1920, P. occidentalis Strand, 1920, P. occidentalis (var.?) Strand, 1920 and Pterinochilides obenbergeri Strand, 1920, а также синонимизировав птицееда P. vorax с видом P. constrictus (Strand, 1907a).

В дальнейшем Лаурент (1946) и австралиец Р. Равен (1985) также проводили ревизии группы упомянутых родственных родов, так же как и англичанин Э. Смит (1990). Карпентер в 1993 году предлагает синонимику рода Coelogenium с родом Pterinochilus, однако неправильно указывает общий признак, и синонимика отклоняется Смитом (1996) и Н. Платником (1998).

Также потрудились «на славу» и известные господа Петерс (1998, 1999), издавший ряд статей, Шмидт и сотоварищи, переописавшие вид Pterinochilus mamillatus в 2000 году, и сам Г. Шмидт даже описавший по живому экземпляру новый вид - Pterinochilus leetzi Schmidt, 2002.

Результат своей первой глобальной многолетней работы, посвящённой группе родов птицеедов подсемейства Harpactirinae, Ричард Гэллон опубликовал в 2001 году (GALLON, R. C. 2001: Revision of the Ceratogyrus spp. Formerly included in Coelogenium (Araneae, Theraphosidae, Harpactirinae). Mygalomorph 2(1): 1–20). Значительные изменения, приведшие к синонимике двух рассматриваемых родов, также коснулись и рода Pterinochilus: вид Pterinochilus meridionalis был перенесён в род Ceratogyrus, Coelogenium raveni - в род Pterinochilus, а вид Coelogenium nigrifemur был также сведён к виду Pterinochilus junodi.

И, наконец, "финальная черта" в современной систематике подсемейства Harpactirinae была проведена всё тем же Гэллоном в 2002 году (GALLON, R. C. 2002. Revision of the African genera Pterinochilus and Eucratoscelus (Araneae, Theraphosidae, Harpactirinae) with description of two new genera. Bull. Br. arachnol. Soc. 12 (5), 201–232), в результате чего род Pterinochilus Pocock, 1897 наконец-то приведён к тому статусу, в котором мы видим его сейчас.

Представители рода Pterinochilus отличаются от других родственных родов африканского подсемейства Harpactirinae следующей комбинацией признаков: от представителей рода Harpactirella наличием выраженной скопулы на заднебоковой поверхности хелицер, состоящей из перовидных стридуляционных волосков; от представителей родов Harpactira и Trichognatha отсутствием выраженной скопулы на верхней части заднебоковой поверхности хелицер. От птицеедов рода Harpactira отличается отсутствием на максилле рядов стридуляционных перовидных волосков, а также отсутствием обособленных рядов щетинок снизу скопул заднебоковой поверхности хелицер. Отличается от Idiothele формой основного сегмента задней пары паутинных отростков. От рода Ceratogyrus не искривлённой областью фовеа. Самка птицееда рода Pterinochilus отличается от самки рода Augacephalus наличием исходящих волосков на хелицерах, менее робустных педипальп и ног I, II, а также круглой формой предпоследних стернальных сигилл. Самцы - наличием хорошо развитых тибиальных шпор (крючков) ноги I, снабжённых выраженным шипиком.

Террариум птицееда Pterinochilus murinus. Фото (с) Timo Raab Род представлен небольшой и средней величины (2-6 см) достаточно отднотипными, но весьма полиморфными пауками, имеющими характерный рисунок верха абдомена и просомы, состоящий из полосок, пятен и сетчатого рисунка, что затрудняет их визуальное видовое и даже родовое определение. Имеют различные варианты окраски, каждая из которых в своё время была описана как самостоятельные виды.

Обитают эти пауки-птицееды как в зоне повышенной влажности, так и в условиях аридных биотопов кустарниковых степей и полупустынь Африки, поднимаясь в горы более 2000 м над уровнем моря, заселяя норы, а также используя в качестве укрытий естественные убежища, расположенные на грунте, в основаниях кустарников, между камнями, корягами.

Как и для птицеедов рода Ceratogyrus отмечена способность плести "воздушные укрытия" (как это делают древесные виды пауков-птицеедов), размещая их непосредственно над землей (P. murinus также встречены в дуплах деревьев). Сами норы изнутри обильно выстланы паутиной и зачастую вход в них также заплетён.

Это агрессивные, очень подвижные и довольно токсичные пауки, укус которых очень болезненный. Содержание их, хотя и не представляет особой сложности, но виды этого рода не могут быть рекомендованы начинающим.

Наименее продолжительно живущие представители птицеедов - в среднем 5-7 лет. В литературе приведены данные до 12 лет.

Самцы большинства представителей рода мельче самок по размеру, половой диморфизм на поздних стадиях развития не выражен. Для вида P. murinus известны факты откладки после спаривания один за другим трёх коконов с разницей во времени не более месяца. Молодые пауки растут очень быстро: самцы могут созревать уже к году, самки, как правило, к 2 годам. Кокон, как у всех представителей подсемейства, фиксированного типа, содержит в среднем около 100-200 яиц и более.

Содержание. В неволе, как и представители близких родов, в отличие от обитания в природе, как правило, не копают нор, а заселяют предоставляемые искусственные укрытия, изредка выкапывая углубления под кусками коры и т.п., заплетая террариум в месте и вокруг укрытия. Зачастую же не используют предоставляемые укрытия вообще, а обильно выстлав террариум паутиной, формируют систему ходов и отнорков.

Все распространённые в хобби представители рода (P. murinus, P. chordatus и P. lugardi) могут издавать звуки за счёт имеющегося стридулятивного аппарата.

Регулярно разводятся в неволе.

Содержат все виды в сходных условиях при невысокой влажности и хорошей вентиляции на слегка влажном субстрате или сухом субстрате с обязательным предоставлением ёмкости для питья. Температура содержания 25-28°С. При этом, влажность для пауков ранних возрастов должна быть выше чем для взрослых пауков, для чего необходимо увлажнять часть субстрата.

Террариум для пауков рода Pterinochilus должен быть обязательно оборудован вентиляцией.

Распространение. Все виды рода представлены на африканском континенте, преимущественно на востоке и в Центральной Африке, также к югу (Кения, Эфиопия, Сомали, Судан, Уганда, Танзания, Ботсвана, Намибия, Замбия, Зимбабве, Бурунди, Конго (Заир), Мозамбик, Руанда).

 

Вид Русское название Ареал Фотография Биология, статус Условия содержания
alluaudi
Berland, 1914

-

(Maji ya Chumvi) Кения

-

Известен только из описания по одному экземпляру - самцу.

Какие-либо сведения по биологии вида неизвестны

В неволе не содержится
chordatus
(Gerstacker, 1873)
Калиманджарский горчичный паук-бабуин Восточная Африка

тёмная цветовая форма Фото Barry Wiles © 2005

половозрелый самец птицеед светлой формы окраски птицеед номинативной формы окраски

 Фото Timo Raab © 2005

В природе населяет открытые луговые стации, поднимаясь в горы до 2100 м над у.м.

Для этого вида, как и для Pterinochilus lugardi более характерен норный образ жизни, чем для Pterinochilus murinus.

Достигает 5,5 см длины тела (самки, самцы несколько меньше).

Имеет три основные цветовые формы, из которых тёмная наименее распространена в коллекциях.

 Каждая из форм имеет также различные вариации в тоне окраски.

Требования к содержанию этого вида аналогичны таковым для
Pterinochilus murinus
leetzi
Schmidt, 2002

-

Замбия

Фото взято из описания вида

© A. Leetz

Вид известен по единственному экземпляру - самке, бывшей на момент описания живой.

Валидность этого таксона нуждается в подтверждении

Требования к содержанию этого вида вероятно сходны с Pterinochilus murinus
lugardi Pocock, 1900 Горчичный паук-бабуин форта Хoлл (Квебе) Север Южной Африки

взрослая самка

взрослая самка, плетущая кокон

 Фото Phil Messenger © 2004

взрослая самка

 Фото Steve Dye © 2005

взрослая самка

 Фото Laura Korska © 2005

Наиболее "норный" из всех известных видов рода.

Самые крупные самки могут достигать чуть более 5 см длиной тела, самцы - не более 4 см.

Биология вида в природе слабо изучена, однако реже чем другие виды, но встречается и размножается в неволе.

Внешне может быть спутан с палевой вариацией номинативной формы окраски птицееда Pterinochilus murinus

Требования к содержанию этого вида аналогичны таковым для
Pterinochilus murinus
murinus Pocock, 1897 Птицеед «вспышка золотой звезды» Восток Центральной Африки

птицеед красной формы окраски

 Фото © Eugeny Yu. Rogov

птицеед номинативной (типовой) формы окраски

 Фото Timo Raab © 2005

птицеед горной усамбарской окраски

Фото Barry Wiles © 2005

взрослый самец птицееда красной формы окраски

 Фото Ian Metcalfe © 2004

Из всех трёх распространённых в неволе видов наименее привязан к обитанию в норах, занимая и осваивая уже имеющиеся всевозможные убежища.

Для него более характерно построение укрытий из паутины на поверхности субстрата. Особенно эта черта отмечена у птицеедов красной цветовой формы (часто можно встретить их под "торговыми" названиями Pterinochilus sp. "usambara" или "P. spinifer", "P. mamillatus").

Это самый крупный представитель рода, достигает длины тела более 6 см, в размахе ног - до 15 см. Следует при этом правда оговориться, что такие размеры отмечены только для номинативной (типовой) формы вида. Остальные же сходны с P. chordatus или P. lugardi по размеру.

Выделено 4 основные формы окраски, каждая из которых имеет незначительные вариации тона: типовая (номинативная) форма, красная, горная усамбарская и тёмная форма (последняя не распространена в коллекциях).

Самый интенсивно плетущий паук рода, а также и самый агрессивный.

Содержится, как и остальные близкие виды при невысокой относительной влажности (50-60%) и температурах порядка 25-28°С.

Охотно оккупирует любые предоставляемые укрытия, которые обильно оплетает паутиной.

Необходимо предоставление воды для питья, для чего устанавливают поилку или один-два раза в неделю опрыскивают грунт с одной из сторон террариума

simoni
Berland, 1917

-

Бассейн реки Конго, Ангола, Конго (Заир)

-

Известен только по музейным экземплярам.

Достигает 4 см длины тела (самки).

Данных по биологии не имеется

В неволе не содержится
vorax
Pocock, 1897

-

Центральная Африка

-

Также не распространён в коллекциях любителей.

Предположительно, достаточно давно было ввезено несколько этих птицеедов в Германию.

Новых данных нет

Сведений о содержании этого вида в неволе нет

Неопределенный